Month: July 2005

  • PLAYING AROUND WITH THE PROTOTYPE



    Well I don’t have a model around so I have had to play with the new
    formulation of diffuser prototypes by myself.  I’m freaking
    amazed.  These photos were taken in a completely dark bathroom
    with me standing right next to the white wall.  Check out the
    shadow.  This was a shot done in Vertical.  As you can see by
    the design of my DeltaDiffuser, it rotates around the barrel so that
    you can put the flash smack in the middle of the wedge. 


    The little pyramids and the
    properties of the plastic/vinyl combination are perfect.  We have
    it.  The perfect diffuser for the point-and-shoot camera. 
    The cameras control the exposures perfectly, so you won’t even know
    it’s on – there isn’t even a greatly increased recycle time.


    I’m so excited because I am a
    flash nut.  And when I was at the Institut all of my classmates
    were digital camera nuts… and they’d all go – hey look at this
    picture – and I would think – great… looks like we’re all standing on
    the highway about to get hit by a semi… now my little diffuser
    invention brings soft professional portrait quality lighting to the
    point-and-shoot.  YAY!

  • NEW PRODUCT ANNOUNCEMENT – THE DELTA DIFFUSER!


    We don’t mess around here at Gary
    Fong, Inc.  This new product should be out in about three weeks,
    and we already have the patent applications in process for worldwide
    patents.  I am so freaking excited about this product because it
    is BADLY NEEDED!


    As you all know, I am a
    newly-converted point-and-shoot freak.  But I love the quality of
    lighting I was getting from the Lightsphere II �.  Lighting in
    digital is so extremely touchy because of the high contrast of most
    digital cameras.  So the Lightsphere is great for larger cameras
    with separate flashes.. But how could we diffuse from a point and
    shoot?  The high contrast ratio from digital would mean that
    anything that came remotlely close to the front of the lens would flare
    badly.  And I wanted something that would work with ALL
    point-and-shoot digital cameras…  so here’s my INVENTION!



    It
    is a radical design.  You see, all point-and-shoot digital cameras
    have this crazy teeny tiny flash that looks like a freaking spotlight
    when you take photos of your friends.  So what I have done is
    invented
    a flat delta-shaped filter wedge that uses mini pyramids to further
    disperse the light.  When the light hits the rear of the panel,
    the tiny pyramids send light all over the place, lighting up the entire
    wedge and giving you the same shape lighting source as my famous
    Lightsphere II!


    And, as you probably have
    guessed, since the flash hits this panel, light goes backwards as well,
    helping to light the room up and give a more natural look.  Since
    we are using a really clear material for this product, lighting
    efficiency is maximized!


    The interior of the mounting
    surface has flexible “fingers” to enable this unit to fit basically any
    point-and-shoot without converters.


    STAY TUNED TO THIS WEBSITE! 
    I WILL ADD IT TO THE CART AND IT WILL BE ON SALE IN A FEW WEEKS! 
    YAY!!! NO MORE CRAPPY DIGITAL SNAPSHOTS!

  • YES, OH YES THERE WILL BE A LIGHTSPHERE FOR POINT AND SHOOTS


    Look
    closely at the shadow underneath the student chair.  I had one heck of
    a time trying to invent a diffuser that would work with all
    point-and-shoot cameras… something that would work with all of them
    but still produce a very soft light source, is super portable and
    doesn’t effect the metering.


    So the drawings are now going
    straight to David, my patent attorney and I am so excited.  This is the
    one thing that I was hoping for – something that would work with point
    and shoots.  I GUARANTEE THAT IT IS LIKE NOTHING YOU CAN PICTURE in
    your head.  You will laugh when I show it… it is SO different.


    I am so excited about all the new
    products that are coming to my e-store that I’ve recently invented or
    developed.  There is nothing like free-time for creativity.  I’ll
    announce it here.

  • IMAGES FROM THE STUNNING AND SPECTACULAR VATICAN CITY


    I
    thought world history was so boring in school.  But when you are
    standing underneath something living, breathing that by today’s
    standards are just timeless, then all of a sudden it is so fascinating.


    I
    have never heard of anybody as amazing as Michelangelo.  Today I
    saw the amazing fresco he painted above the Sistine Chapel and stared
    at its scale and beauty in immense awe.  Then
    you see St Peter’s
    Basilica and realize what a tremendous architect he was.  Inside
    St Peter’s, on display is his original Sculpture of the Pieta. 


    How could one man exist with so
    many gifts?  He painted timeless
    murals, was an unparalleled sculptor, an amazing architect
    and also a poet.  Wow.  And then I realize, this was a
    man.  Someone who would probably sit next to me in the pizzeria in
    these timeless streets.When they say someone is a true
    renaissance man, I wonder why they just don’t say Michelangelo. 
    He was a turbo renaissance man.


    Marco and I were walking around
    with our point and shoot cameras and we looked at each other trying to
    be photographic artists and we said to ourselves, we suck.


    Michelangelo sure had quite a rebellious nature.  When
    I saw the murals over the Sistine Chapel, two things immediately come
    to mind: 1) the absence of the presence of Mary and 2) how muscular
    everybody is.  My tour guide Paulo taught me a lot today. 
    The reason everyone was so muscular was because Michelangelo loved the
    human form, and believed that strength was burgeoning out of man’s
    body. 


    The complete absence of Mary was puzzling to me in the house of a religion that worships Mary as the mother of
    God, and born of immaculate conception.  Well this is weird but
    according to my guide, it was Pope Pius IX in the 1800′s that declared
    that Mary was born of immaculate conception, and it was at this time
    that Mary had become a central figure for Catholicism.  I mean it
    isn’t really written in scripture, so it seems this worship of Mary and
    especially the prayers directed toward Mary came well after
    Michelangelo’s time.  That is why Mary doesn’t show in the art.
     


    The
    Roman emporer Nero was really a weird guy.  After the big fire in
    Rome, he blamed it on the Christians, and ordered St. Peter crucified
    and St. Paul beheaded.  St. Paul was beheaded because he was a
    roman, and therefore he was “treated” to a swift death rather than the
    painful slow death of crucifixion.  St. Peter chose to be
    crucified upside down because as a martyr, he didn’t want the imagery
    to be confused with Jesus.  On the massive bronze door outside of
    St. Peter’s is this stunning relief of St. Peter being crucified upside
    down.  On the site of his crucifixion, and the supposed tomb of St
    Peter is the stunning square and basilica.  It was here the
    Catholic church was founded, at St. Peter was the first to run it.


    I
    asked my tour guide Paulo why the roman empire fell.  And he said
    that it was because Rome had become arrogant and corrupt, and tried to
    spread its’ idealogy around the world by force, yet could not longer
    finance and support such a large army.  (sounds hauntingly
    familiar to me right about now).  As the presence of Christianity
    grew, it was not until the Roman emporer Constantine “legalized”
    christianity did it become a possibility in Rome.  The funny thing
    is, Constantine became a christian on his deathbed – so it was like a
    political thing because he knew Rome was losing it.


    Today
    I am pretty sure I took the most powerful images I have ever taken in
    my life.  I have one of the St. Peter’s Basilica where the light
    is streaming in like a cross (see to the right).  I just couldn’t
    believe how amazing the Basilica is.  But I totally am not going
    to even think of any of my crap as even slightly artistic, after
    standing under Michelangelo’s mural, or seeing the amazing sculpture he
    chipped out of marble.  I sell plastic lighting accessories and
    take snapshots on vacation.  Talk about being humbled!


    My
    last question to Paulo was, if he thought there was ever a genius like
    Michalangelo again, and he said that during those days there were so
    many amazing Italian artists.  The wealthy textile merchants from
    Florence started the Renaissance and financed gifted artists… and
    though Michelangelo was awesome, so was Bodicelli and Raphael.  I
    also freaking am stunned by how insane Bernini is.  Inside St.
    Peter’s is an amazing amazing sculpture by Bernini pictured here to the
    left and his immense immense altar, the Baldacchino. 


    Tomorrow night I return to
    France.  I will miss Rome but this is a city I’ll see again. 
    There are many regions you can see once and be fine.  Egypt I’m
    fine.  Greece I’m fine.  But I’ll always feel homesick for
    Italy or France…


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories